The Faculty of Education, University of Benin was established in December 1974 as a one Department Faculty.  In 1976/77 the Institute of Education was established as a part of the Faculty and in 1977/78 the Department of Adult Education and Extra Mural Studies was also established. In 1979/80, on request of the Faculty of Education, Senate split the omnibus Department of Education into three departments viz: Department of Educational Administration and Foundations (DEAF), Department of Educational Psychology and Curriculum Studies (EPCS) and Department of Health and Physical Education (PHE). Although the department came into being in 1979/80 as an offspring of the Institute of Education, the department can claim to be as old as the Faculty of Education. As the most senior staff of the Department, Dr., now Professor Emeritus N.A. Nwagwu was the Ag. Dean of the Faculty of Education, Dr. O. Iziren the next in rank became the first Ag. Head of Department of Educational Administration and Foundations in October and November 1979. 

By the end of November, 1979, Dr. O. Iziren was moved to Head the Department of Adult Education and Extra Mural Studies.  In December of 1979 Dr. J.A. Aghenta became the Ag. Head of Department.  Dr. N.A. Nwagwu, Dr. O. Iziren and Dr. J.A. Aghenta who were academic staff of the defunct omnibus Department of Education became the foundation staff of the Department of Educational Administration and Foundations. On the verge of the transfer of Dr. O. Iziren to the Department of Adult Education and Extra Mural Studies, Dr., now Prof. J.N. Omatseye (Rtd.) was recruited.  Within the next three months, Drs. E.A. Arubayi and E.T. Ehiametalor now Professors were given employment into the Department.  They were quickly followed by Prof. Asiedu Akofi, Dr. A.M. Fagbulu and Dr. Nwoabasi.  Before the close of the early history of the Department, Dr. Mon Nwadiani;  Dr. J.K. Adeyemi (now Profs.) and Late Revd. Dr. but later Rev. Fr. Prof. M. S. Onwueme and Dr. Akiri joined the staff of the department. The employment of Dr.  (Mrs) B.O. Ogonor and Dr (Mrs.) F. I. Ofoegbu (now Professors) and Dr M Ijeoma in the late 80s and the 90s opened the way to the employment of female staff into the Department.

The pioneer nonacademic staff also made selfless sacrifices to ensure that the Department was on a sound footing. They include Mrs. Rose Chukwura, Mr. Idu, and Uwadia, and Mr. Ogbebor among others. The employment of Dr. M.A. Ogunu,(now a retired Professor) in the 90s – marked the end of the early period and the beginning of a modern one. In 2004, some degree programmes in Social Sciences were approved for the department. 

In August 2014 the Department was divided into two; Department of Educational Management and Department of Educational Foundation. The Educational Management was headed by Prof. (Mrs) C. J. Ifedili, while Department of Educational Foundations was headed by Prof. Noah Musa.  However, right from the beginning of the creation of the Department in the 1979/80 session, the Department was assigned the responsibility to house and manage Arts subjects including, English and Literature in English, French, Fine Arts and History in Education.  Later, Edo Language and Religious Studies were added to the list. From the beginning also, the Department started to offer as its contribution to the B.Ed, B.A/B.Sc (Ed) degree programmes of the Faculty of Education – Comparative Education, Communications skill (now removed) History of Education, Philosophy of Education, Sociology of Education and Subject Method in respect of the Arts subjects assigned to the department…All these programes were ceded to the Department of Educational Foundations in 2014.

Nevertheless, In the 1980/81 session, the Department added to its responsibilities postgraduate programmes in Educational Administration and Planning as well as Educational Foundations.  In the 1984/85 session the part-time programme was added. The number of foundation students in 1979/80 was (156).   The number rose to 163 in 1980/81 and 331 in 1983/84.   And for the postgraduate studies, the number was (21) in 1980/81, rising to (60) in 1985/86. Graduate output in 1979/80 was (52), in 1981/82 (72), 1982/83 (122). In 1980/81 (3) students enrolled while in 1982/83 (10) enrolled for postgraduate studies. Since then there has been a steady growth in student intake. In the 2019/2020 academic session for example, the total enrolment of undergraduates was 1500 while that of postgraduate was 192. With its innovative approach to instruction and a relative corps of dedicated staff, the department is poised to become one of the leading departments in the Faculty of Education, University of Benin, Benin City and other faculties of education in south-south universities in Nigeria.

Two other undergraduate programmes were added into the department in 2013/2014 session.  They are Library and Information Science (BLIS) and Early Childhood Education (B.Ed). The BLIS operates in the department at Ugbowo Campus, while the B.Ed Early Childhood is at Ekenwan Campus. It is glad to know that Educational Management Department has nine professors including the first Emeritus Professor of the University of Benin; Professor N.A. Nwangwu, one Associate Professor, two senior lecturers  and 15 other categories of academic staff  It is on record that the Department has proudly produced five Deans of Education out of thirteen Deans of the Faculty. There is great hope for greater achievements for the department in the future.


The Philosophy of the department is the production of graduates who are soundly trained in the teaching profession and can bring such training to bear in whatever roles they may be called upon to play in the course of National development. The combined Honours Degree programmes available in the Department cater for diverse academic interests of students and prepare them for teaching and a variety of job situations including Research, Management and other professional work in both public and private sectors.


To provide knowledge for service through research, teaching and training of education personnel for schools and educational agencies as managers in line with global best practices.


To train, re-retrain, upgrade, update, develop and produce quality teachers and educational managers at all levels while instilling in them the virtues of academic excellence, character, creativity and innovativeness for sustainable development.  

Aims of the Department

The Department aims to produce high level teacher personnel and contribute through research and publications towards the growth of teaching and the improvement of the quality of teachers and the teaching profession in Nigeria and on the international scene.